Choose to go to your happy place

Shimmering LIghts Earring KitWhen I got started beading, I was in a stressful job with a long commute (tiring and stressful).  At a friend’s suggestion, I took a class at a nearby bead store.  After work I came home and started making jewelry.  I would feel the tension leave my body with each bead I would put on the wire.  I felt better at midnight after hours of beading than I had all day long.  Beading became my “happy place.”

Soon I started teaching beading classes out of my house in the East Bay, which led to opening a bead shop, Bead Inspirations.  In the past 6+ years, I have heard so many customers tell me how fun, relaxing and therapeutic beading has been for them.

But even in a fun business like beads, I can get focused on stressful things:  surviving a difficult economy, dealing with employee issues, making sure we have products on time for classes, etc.  So what I’ve learned I have to do is to keep choosing to go to my happy place.  It is a mental habit to spend so much of my time focusing on the stressful aspects of my life.  But, I’ve got a choice!

Neptune Beach Earring KitSometimes it is enough to interrupt the stressful thinking and think about a time when I was relaxed and happy.  I can remember how it feels to be in the creative flow and dwell in that memory for a while, taking the time to feel into the joyful serenity of it.  Other times I need to actually disengage completely from all the other activities in my life and physically go to my favorite happy place for a time.  Either way, I can choose.

In one of my spiritual reference books we affirm: I can choose peace instead of this.  We don’t have to live with stress all the time because we can choose to go to the happy place, either in our mind our in the physical world.  I hope to see you there.

Vicki Lapp

P.S. If you’re in the SF Bay Area, come to our shop in Alameda for Bead Night on Fridays from 6-9pm.  Check our calendar to make sure it is happening, as sometimes we don’t have Bead Night because of other events in the store.  You’ll usually find me there in my happy place!

3 Comments

Filed under Creativity Tips

3 responses to “Choose to go to your happy place

  1. THAT WAS SUCH A GREAT POST AND SO TRUE. HAVING A HAPPY PLACE IS SOMETHING SO MEMORABLE. MY HAPPY PLACE IS IN MY PHOTOGRAPHY & CRAFTS. NOTHING MAKES ME MORE HAPPY THAN MAKING SOMETHING THAT I KNOW I PERSONALLY CREATED! THANKS FOR THE AWESOME POST!

  2. Very enlightening post! I love all the things you make! I have always wanted to get into the metal alphabet stamps & create some personalized pieces. It is so true, that finding your own “happy place” makes a difference in your life. I’m in the Cleveland, OH area, but wish I could join you on Friday’s!

  3. Robbie Borglum

    What a great reminder that we do have a choice about what we think about all day long. Even though it’s hard to remember to give our minds a break from the “have to’s,” it always pays off in peace of mind and the ability to tap into the greater wisdom of the universe in solving our problems.

Leave a Reply

